As a pretty recent graduate of college, I find it horrifyingly easy to imagine what my campus would have been like if a shooting like Virginia Tech’s would have happened there. I am thinking about rooms and doors and windows and buildings and open spaces on my old campus and cannot get the thoughts out of my head. There is some sort of familiarity to the images I’m seeing on television right now, some sort of connection between my college memories and the students huddling terrified and shocked in VT classrooms. I can even imagine what columns and bushes the police would be taking cover behind on my old campus. This is not something I would have assumed I would ever be thinking about, and I don’t like it one bit.

Leave a Reply

