The New Bobby Kennedy

This morning I went to see Barack Obama (who I’m now supporting since Ron Paul is effectively out of the race), and it was everything I hoped it would be. Great atmosphere, good speech (the basic speech I’ve heard before online, with some site-specific modifications), a really fantastic mix of people (my age, younger, older, veterans, men, women, blacks, whites…), and the kind of hope that I think can start this country down the right path. I am buying into his message of change, I am buying into his experience helping “the least of these” in chicago after he graduated from law school (instead of becoming a rich lawyer like his two opponents), I am buying into the better image he can give this country abroad, I am buying into his claim of being able to work across party lines, and I am absolutely buying into this enthusiasm that has people my age actually excited about politics for the first time in their life and some people my parents’ age excited about a candidate in a way they haven’t been since a certain young presidential candidate was killed in a hotel just as people were starting to see the dawn of a new day.

I hope that my generation can see that dawn finally carried out. I think it’s time for a multiracial young candidate with a real understanding of the common people and no ridiculous claim to a birthright presidency to rise up and become our leader. Fired up, ready to go.


Down the hallway, waiting to get in. I was at the end of the hallway just inside the doors, so I didn’t have to wait outside in the cold.


Outside in the cold like these people did. You can see that there were a lot of people there.


Architecture student that I am, I had to pay attention to the room we were in. It was really beautiful and is a Historic Landmark, built in the first decade of the 1900s.


You can see how many people there were. A couple thousand, I’d guess, but the hall was packed and more people came in and stood in the back corner after I took this picture.


The stage with people ready to wave signs behind Obama for the tv cameras. I wanted one of those signs but didn’t get one.


The candidate himself. Sorry the picture is blurry, I was a little too far away for the camera I was using, and he was moving down the line. It was like he was a rock star, people rushing forward to shake his hand and girls literally screaming when he shook theirs. This picture was taken as he came in, and as he was leaving the room I got to shake his hand and had him sign an excuse slip for me since I missed my morning class.


The stage after the room cleared out. You can see his “O” logo on the banner, which I think is really a pretty smart logo. It’s got the O for his name, it’s reminiscent of a rising sun, it’s got the red flag stripes which also double as planted rows in the midwest plains (a possible nod to Obama’s Illinois roots as well as the plains as a metaphor for the country as a whole). It’s very simple but has 3 or 4 differenr meanings in it. All in all a very good logo.

Leave a Reply

