Today was the job fair at school, where firms would come in and we could interview with them for work. Not many were looking for summer interns, which is what I would be, but I was able to interview with a few anyway. We’ll see if anything comes of it. I’m having to deal with the fact that there aren’t any firms in Charlotte doing modern residential work, but that’s basically because the market won’t support it. I guess it’s still pretty rare to find a public willing to live in a modern home. And I don’t know if there are any firms at all anywhere that do modern housing, with the kind of attention to craft that I want, for the kind of clients I want to work with (middle- to lower-middle-class people). Everything is market-driven, and that’s just something I’ll have to learn.

Things have calmed down a little bit, classes are going well, and I feel like I’m at a good place right now. I’m learning more about myself and what I can be for other people, and that’s always a good thing.

Leave a Reply

