In Which I Can’t Think of A Relevant Title Beginning With “In Which…”

After not sleeping much at all the past week in preparation for a big review of my studio project on Friday (and I realized while I was presenting my work that being pass-out tired makes me speak slower and more clearly), a quick update on things:

Everything with school is still going, charging toward the end of the semester in about three weeks. There is still a lot of work to be done on my studio project, and there is the usual end-of-semester convergence of projects in every class due at the same time, but such is school life and I am still confident I can get it all done at a high level. But when the semester is over I am taking a couple days to go somewhere by myself and decompress from these past few months. At the end of last semester I went off to the beach for a weekend; I guess I could do the same thing this time but what’s the point of the beach in December, right? Maybe the mountains this time. Just somewhere I can go and read and be quiet and alone for a couple days.

I also got accepted into a short workshop with a visiting lecturer in January. Harmen Liemburg, a Dutch printmaker, will be an artist-in-residence for a week or so at my college, and he’s doing an intensive two-day workshop with students from the Architecture and Arts departments, and I was one of the students accepted into this workshop. I’ve never done printmaking before, but it’s something I’ve been interested in for a long time, so I’m looking forward to this. The 15 of us students will be split into groups and will be making prints dealing with the history of Charlotte. These prints will then likely become part of a traveling exhibit. Should be exciting.

Not much else is going on. I read The Secret Life of Bees this weekend, and I feel very fortunate to be able to learn about the more feminine aspects of spirituality and at the same time learn about how things might be viewed from an African-American viewpoint. Both the African-American and the feminine views on Christianity are ones I’d never known much about, and I think my faith is becoming richer for having discovered that these views are different and valid ones.

Things are good. Life goes on.

One thought on “In Which I Can’t Think of A Relevant Title Beginning With “In Which…”

  1. Fred says:

    That workshop sounds really cool!

Leave a Reply

