In Which I Have Far More To Be Thankful For Than I Deserve

Every Thanksgiving everyone always writes blog entries and updates their Facebook statuses about what they’re thankful for. May as well get in on the act.

I’m thankful for school. Really. I’m not stuck like I was last week with my studio project, and the progress I’m making on it (hurried, stressful progress because my final review is in a week and a half) seems to be good progress. I’m much happier with the design in general than I was earlier, and I don’t feel so bad about working in a firm for a career. I actually, if I’m honest with myself, do like detailing things. It’s just tough when all of a sudden the professor seems to really dislike your work and it’s so late in the semester. But I’ve made good changes and things are looking up. I’m also thankful I have a cousin who’s an architect and can give me some much-appreciated advice about things. I think advice from him (working in a firm) coupled with advice from my teachers (not in a firm but theoretically interested in what’s best for me) will be a helpful combination.

I’m thankful for my friends at school. The people I spend all day every day with. The people who always make me feel a lot more confident about things. The people who are invaluable to my well-being.

I’m thankful for the people I met up in Boston.

I’m thankful that school work keeps me too busy to think about Nashville and the people there most of the time, because when I do think about them it’s rough.

I’m thankful that my family can still go up to West Virginia for Thanksgiving, even though Jennie isn’t with us this year (that sounds like she died, but she only moved to California. Where, probably, her morals died. Hollywood.)

I’m thankful that I can take short breaks from my school work to write blog entries about that for which I am thankful.

I’m thankful that I’m going to be able to go spend three days at a monastery after the semester is over and will have a chance to collect my thoughts again.

I’m thankful that I can run Windows on my computer so that I can run Revit and AutoCAD. I’m thankful that I know Revit because it saves time.

I’m thankful for all you guys.

2 thoughts on “In Which I Have Far More To Be Thankful For Than I Deserve

  1. Jessie says:

    I think I miss school. I am thankful, yes, to still be in it, although the tables are turned (literally).

    A monastery! How interesting.

  2. Jessie says:

    Is it a monastery nearby? I never think of monasteries being here, now, in America; they seem so much to belong to Europe and the old world. But I know that they are here…I even visited one once for a school field trip. They’re just tucked away–which is as it should be, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

