In Which I Fill Out a Survey

My dad posted a survey on his blog today, and I thought I’d fill it out since I’m in a Christmas mood (brought on by listening to four Christmas cds in a row during my Structures final exam today).

1. Egg nog or hot chocolate? Egg nog pretty much just on Christmas Eve/Day, boiled custard if I feel like having an angioplasty, and hot chocolate any time during cold weather.

2. Does “Santa” wrap presents or just put them under the tree? Wrapped. Who leaves presents unwrapped under the tree? Also, I’ll take this chance to say: gift bags are from the Devil himself. It should be wrapping paper only. And not necessarily specifically Christmas paper. Could be newspaper or butcher paper, or paper from another holiday as a joke. Any kind of paper, really. But I very much believe that the physical act of unwrapping is half of the gift.

3. Colored lights or white? Colored in limited quantities, white in larger quantities. But no overload on any color.

4. Do you hang mistletoe? No. Do people actually hang that in their house? It seems the only people who would actually hang mistletoe are people who are in love with their own jokes and have lots of chrome-and-glass furniture. Sorry if you’re one of those people.

5. When do you put your decorations up? Whenever we get a chance. This year we didn’t get the tree up until last Sunday.

6. What is your favorite holiday dish (including dessert)? Cookies, candy, anything with sugar in it. Except fruitcake.

7. Favorite holiday memory as a child? I don’t remember a specific one. We always used to go to my grandparents’ in Maryland, and even now we still spend time with relatives. It’s all good.

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa? I don’t remember. I don’t think he was really ever emphasized much.

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve? Yeah, we each open one present.

10. Do you place a nativity set anywhere in your home? We’ve got them all over the place. There’s two I can see from where I’m sitting.
11. Snow. Love or or hate it? I love snow and wish it would snow every day. But I don’t like when it turns brown from car exhaust and mud. If it would just snow, make everything white and clean, and then melt away it would be perfect.

12. Can you ice skate? Kind of. About as well as I can rollerblade.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift? I don’t. I get good stuff every year.

14. What is the most important thing about the holidays for you? Being with family, the sense of love and peace that people try to extend during Christmas.

15. Do you mail out Christmas cards/newsletters? My parents do, with a letter about our family’s year. I probably will when I’m on my own too.

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition? Spending time with family on Christmas Eve, with a candlelight service at church, and then Christmas dinner.
17. What tops your Christmas tree? An angle. I noticed this year that’s it’s a really small one. But I like it.

18. Do you prefer giving or receiving? Giving. Getting is dumb. Giving lets me make other people happy and be creative. So I get from giving I guess.

19. What is your favorite Christmas song? Hmm…I like the standard church Christmas songs. Maybe “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day.”

20. Candy canes. Yum or yuck? I think candy canes are great in all their flavors and forms.

21. What do you want for Christmas? Books, I guess. I don’t need clothes or anything this year, so books are good. Donations to charity are good too. If this answer is supposed to be more idealist then I’ll say peace and love.

22. Do you attend a Christmas party? Yeah, a couple. Christmas parties are my favorite kind of parties, all things considered.

23. Do you dress up for Christmas Eve or wear pajamas? Dress up a little bit, maybe wear a sweater. We go to church usually.

24. Do you own a Santa hat? No. Do many 25-year-olds own Santa hats? If they do I think they could probably fit into the category of people I describe in question 4 about the mistletoe.

25. Who do you normally spend Christmas with? Family. The only people you should really spend Christmas day with, I think.

Okay, that’s all the questions. I’m leaving tomorrow to spend the weekend at a monastery near Charleston. I’ll be back on Monday to spend Christmas with my family, and I hope you get to do the same.

Leave a Reply

