In Which I Can’t Tell If Things Are Bigger In Texas or Not

I’m in Dallas now, and leaving for Amarillo in the morning. Dallas is a lot bigger than I thought it was, and the construction and roadwork being done is kind of out of hand. The roads here are confusing, and the lane closures from the roadwork doesn’t help. But downtown Dallas is pretty interesting.

I also went and saw the Nasher today and it was everything I thought it would be. I’ll have some pictures online once I get to California. But it just reinforced how brilliant I think Renzo Piano is. Everything about the building and the gardens is breathtaking, and there were a couple times I was happily shocked at how well the aluminum sun shades on the roof work even though I studied them for two months and knew they worked perfectly. Both the building itself and the gardens are incredibly peaceful and calming even though it’s right in the middle of huge downtown Dallas. You’d never know if someone didn’t tell you. It clearly reaches each one of its goals, which is a really hard thing to do in architecture. It’s a fully realized building at its full potential, and I hardly ever see a building like that; I’m never able to come up with anything that perfect yet. It was a completely worthwhile experience.

The drive from Texarkana to Dallas this morning was a short one. The scenery wasn’t as wide-open as I thought it might be, but I’m guessing I’ll see the kind of huge space Texas is famous for on my drive to Amarillo tomorrow since it’s another 7 hours through the northern middle of the state. The drive has been easy so far and the weather has been perfect. This trip is turning out so well already.

One thought on “In Which I Can’t Tell If Things Are Bigger In Texas or Not

  1. nate says:

    If he has ever graced the Nasher since it was built I bet he hates parts of it- sees things that could have been done better. That may be the blessing of art, though, knowing that in reaching goals it still has more potential- especially functional art such as architecture.

Leave a Reply

