In Which I Saw a Sign for The World’s Most Disgusting Alcoholic Drink

I’m now in Amarillo, Texas after driving through rain for almost the whole way from Dallas. I made it to where I’m staying about five minutes before the start of The Preakness, so I got to see a pretty exciting race and keep up my practice of watching all the Triple Crown races.

The drive from Dallas to Amarillo was really gorgeous. Lots of farms and huge open spaces covered in scrub trees and grass. I’ve seen hills and flatland before of course but the mix of topography and vegetation makes for something I’ve never seen before. In the next few days, as I drive across the desert and see the canyons, I’m expecting to be even more awed by the natural world than I already am on this trip.

This morning as I was leaving where I stayed last night, I was running out to my car because it was raining. My left foot hit a painted parking space stripe which I quickly found out was a lot more slippery than the blacktop around it; I went down fast and hard. I didn’t get hurt besides a couple bad scrapes, but I did tear a hole in my shoe that’s too big to sew shut like I did when my dog tore a hole in them earlier. Unfortunately that means I’m going to have to buy a new pair of shoes. Fortunately that means I can provide a new pair of shoes to a kid who needs them, thanks to TOMS shoes. I bought a pair last year and really loved them. Mine were still in good condition until this morning, so now I’ll have to get another pair. If you need new shoes I suggest you take a look at TOMS too.

On the road today I saw a billboard for something I’d never seen before: Budweiser mixed with clamato juice and sold in stores. I don’t know if it’s just in Texas or what, but I can’t imagine how awful beer, clam juice, and tomato juice would be mixed together.

5 thoughts on “In Which I Saw a Sign for The World’s Most Disgusting Alcoholic Drink

  1. Fred says:

    I almost lost my dinner when I read that drink combo. :)

  2. Josh says:

    no kidding! i don’t know how anyone could drink that

  3. Rosalie says:

    We’ve got it here too. Disgusto! Baby Liam is getting a little pair of Toms for the fall. One’s with tiny buffalo all over them!

  4. Josh says:

    liam will be the coolest baby in vidalia

  5. christy says:

    TOMS headquarters in in the L.A. area. You should stop by and say hello.

Leave a Reply

