In Which Maybe I’m Not Supposed to Understand It

I saw the Grand Canyon today, and I don’t understand it. I don’t mean that I’m having trouble seeing what the big deal is; I definitely get why people travel to see it and why it’s one of the greatest natural wonders on the planet. What I mean is that I just don’t understand it. I can’t wrap my head around it. It’s too big and too peaceful and too beautiful, but in a way that’s not like the open expanses I wrote about yesterday. I just don’t understand how something like the Grand Canyon happens. Neither explanation I’ve always heard, that it’s caused by millions of years of water or caused by the Biblical flood, makes any sense at all to me. I just… I don’t know. I just don’t understand it. It’s too much of any adjective you can think of to describe it.

My driving today took me across the New Mexico/Arizona border, and I’ve gotta be honest… the part of New Mexico near the border is the most beautiful thing I’ve seen in this country. No question. It’s starkly, breathtakingly, achingly gorgeous. Driving through it sort of made me feel like nothing I’d ever done in my whole life was beautiful, because this kind of thing just blows the top off of any measuring scale. Does that make sense? I don’t know if it does or not.

Last night I saw a movie called Sin Nombre. It’s about a lot of things, including South American immigration and gang violence. I highly recommend it if you can find it in a theater.

My friend Christy Montoya, who believe it or not is from Arizona, told me that Ryan Adams was good music for driving my route today. She was totally right.

Hi Patrick Jenkins.

2 thoughts on “In Which Maybe I’m Not Supposed to Understand It

  1. christy says:

    the beauty of new mexico and arizona does something to you that’s hard to explain. when you see it, you feel like the inside of you expands in the best way possible. your heart is overflowing with the wonder of it all. you realize how small you are. how much you are loved.

  2. Josh says:

    that’s exactly the feeling! it’s like being filled to overflowing with a sense of love

Leave a Reply

