In Which I’m Another Year Older

My twenty-seventh birthday was last Saturday, and after spending some time with some school friends on Friday night I went out with my parents and grandpa for dinner Saturday. I don’t feel another year older, exactly (who really ever does on their birthday?), but I am aware of the fact that I’m getting older, more mature, and more towards the middle of my life. I’m now in my late twenties, which is kind of shocking to me, and I’m content with where I am. I find it interesting to think about where my parents were at my age: my mom was teaching and my dad was teaching and married with me on the way soon. I think both of my grandfathers were away at war, or they’d recently gotten home from it, which is far beyond what I’m doing with my life right now. But like I said, I’m content. My schooling is almost finished, and I’m about to begin an entirely new life as an architect and then later as a husband, father, grandfather, etc. My twenty-seventh year, I guess, will be the one where I really begin my adult life.

My last semester is going well, although I am going to be glad when it’s all finished. One of my classes is the sort of really boring contracts/codes/etc. class everyone has to take, and it’s kind of unbearable at times but it’s a requirement. My elective, though, is really fantastic; we’re looking at perspective in drawings/paintings/etc. from its invention in the late Medieval (which the professor claims is the beginning of modernism) up to what the professor says is the end of modernism in the 1920s and 30s. And we’re combining all this with a study of film while learning how to draw perspectives. It’s been really great so far, and we’re going to be taking a class trip to New York City over the Easter weekend to take over the MOMA film screening room for an entire day. That’s really a once-in-a-lifetime kind of opportunity, so I’m thrilled to be able to do it.

Thesis is going well too. I have meetings three times a week, which is helping me keep on track and produce the work I need to produce. It’s become a look at the structural system of films and how that can influence the design process, which is definitely an interesting topic to me and one I think is an important thing to be studying. The hardest part of it isn’t the work, but figuring out how to keep all of my committee members happy since they sometimes ask for very different things. I’ve got to be able to keep this thesis headed in the direction I want it to head, since it is my thesis, but I also need to be able to placate the professors and take their advice seriously without just blindly doing everything they tell me to do. It’s a bit of a tight-rope act. But I’m enjoying it.

4 thoughts on “In Which I’m Another Year Older

  1. Fred says:

    “It’s a bit of a tight-rope act.”

    Kind of like working with a client maybe?

  2. Josh says:

    I’d guess so, yeah.

Leave a Reply

